A Lesson in the Daytona Bail Bonds process

Posted: January 22, 2013 in Bail Bondsmen News
Tags:

From a Customer of 2nd 2 none

A Lesson in the Daytona bail bonds process about to unfold

A few years ago a friend of mine called and asked what I was doing for Spring Break. I told him and he said “I am coming down to Daytona for a few weeks for Spring Break, so be ready to party!!”. Being that Daytona was the city I was raised in, I was well acquainted with what exactly was going to happen when my friends actually did arrive from NYC. In case you’re not up to speed on Spring Break in Daytona, it is a mega event that is held on the Beach every year. It is where college kids  from all around the world come to showcase their partying talent, and where thousands of men and women come to showcase their enormous appetite for drinking alcohol, picking up each other, and dancing until the wee hours of the morning. So as to not disappoint, my friend and I did pretty much of the same thing every Dubstep listening punk kid does. Little did I know that this time things were going to go down a little bit differently this time around. I was going to have a first hand experience with a Daytona bail bondsman.

The first few days of drinking were business as usual. On the 4th day however, things went a little extra crazy. I had passed out early from the days festivities (when I say early, I mean 4:00am). I was shook awake at about 4:45am from a frantic phone call from my bro (let’s call him Drizzle). Drizzle began ranting and raving about how he had been arrested at a small bar that had apparently been raided by police. He said that when the lights came on during the raid, everyone dropped their ecstasy pills and other miscellaneous drugs on the floor, and because the police couldn’t identify what drugs belonged to which person, they arrested everybody. The funny part is, D didn’t use drugs, so when he told me about this I laughed for a minute and then asked “you’re kidding right? You don’t do drugs”. After a long silence from D  said “I know but that doesn’t matter because the police arrested everyone regardless.”

The fun part of the bail process 

So I’m scrambling to find where I left my jeans and trying to decide how we’re going to find a Daytona bail bondsman and get Drizzle bailed out of the Jail in Daytona. This was all surreal to me and I was not prepared on how best to proceed with his Volusia county bail bond. I was familiar enough with the Daytona arrest process (hey I went to college too) to know that we had to find a professional Daytona bail bondsman and bail him out of jail. As always, I did my trust Google search and typed in the search phrase “Daytona bail bondsman”. I found a Daytona bail bondsman and gave him a call. Much to my surprise, he was awake and ready to help, despite the late (or early) hour. He asked me where my friend was being held and what he was being charged with. I told him that he was being held at the Volusia county jail  and the charge was “possession of Cocaine”, which is a felony. The bail bondsman explained that the bail in this instance would be set at $5,000 and in order to get my friend released, we would have to pay the bail bondsman 10% of the bail cost, or $500. This fee would be non-refundable and this is basically what the bonds man charges for his time. The bondsman also told us that we would have to put down collateral to ensure that my friend Drizzle would show up for this court date. The collateral could be in the form of a Title to a an asset such as a property or vehicle. The collateral would be forfeited for the Daytona bail bonds in the event that my friend D decided to “skip town” and not show up for this court date. So we capitulated and paid the $500 to the Daytona bail bondsman, ponied up our collateral, and alas, my friend D was free on bail.

Comments are closed.